Baturino village, Republic of Buryatia, ZIP code 671265.
Town of Kyakhta
Town of Kyakhta, Republic of Buryatia
1. St. Odigitrievsky Cathedral.
St. Odigitrievsky Cathedral is an Orthodox church. It is the monument of Siberian baroque architecture of the mid-XVIII century in Transbaikalia. It was built in 1741-1785 in Verkhneudinsk (since 1934 - Ulan-Ude). It is the first stone building of the city located in the historic center of Ulan-Ude on the right bank of the Uda river near its inflow into the Selenga.
2. The National Museum of the Republic of Buryatia.
The Museum's collection holds a unique edition of the “Ostrog Bible”, the first complete Slavonic edition, printed at Ostrog town in Russia. It was printed by a Russian printing pioneer, deacon Ivan Fedorov, and prepared through the joint efforts of the Orthodox Prince Konstantin of Ostrog and the circle of scholars gathered around the Ostrog school (academy) in 1580-1581. The publication of the Bible was a major event in the ecclesiastical and cultural life of Eastern Europe and played an exceptional role in the history of Russian Orthodoxy. The text of the “Ostrog Bible” is "pre-Nikon" (which means it had been translated and printed before Moscow Patriarch Nikon carried out the Russian Church reforms between 1652 and 1666) and is sacredly revered by all Old Believers.
The museum's collection contains unique Old Believer icons painted in accordance with Old Russian and Byzantine canons. The pre-Nikon icons were valued by Old Believers, who believed that the traditions of “true” iconography were lost after the schism, and the “new” icons were considered “ungrateful”. Some of the copper-cast items such as icons, folding icons, and eight-pointed crosses were also preserved. Cast icons were more suitable for the conditions of constant relocation, and despite the official ban on the production and use of copper icons, Old Believers continued their production and achieved unprecedented technical and aesthetic perfection of their handiworks. Old Believers' copper-cast crosses and icons were usually between 4 and 30 cm in size and were often made of bright yellow copper, with a background filled with blue, yellow, white and green enamel. The crosses and icons possessed the features of Old Believers' art objects such as bipartite, inscriptions or titlo, an extended symbol used in early Cyrillic manuscripts. The floral and geometric ornamentation was also widespread on these works.
3.The National Library of the Republic of Buryatia.
The library collection of rare books contains “Margaritas”, a collection of words by John Chrysostom of a certain composition. The book was revered and widespread in Russia. It was published by the Moscow Printing House in 1641. The binding pages show the book's own history: they bear records of its purchase and sale in the town of Nizhyn in 1828, Illarion Slepnev’s notes, who owned the book in 1967, etc.
In the architecture of the facades and in the decorative details of the elements, there is a strong influence of baroque forms. The decor of the platbands is interesting by the combination of traditional Old Russian forms of the preceding wooden cult architecture with baroque elements. The rich plastic processing of facades with well-traced brick details of window frames and other elements belongs to the traditions of patterned brick architecture of the 17th century, which confirms the influence of the architectural creativity of people from the Russian North.
4. Holy Trinity Selenginskiy Monastery (Troitskoye village, Pribaikalsky district).
The monastery is located 81 kilometers northwest of Ulan-Ude on the left bank of the Selenga River. It is the first orthodox monastery in Transbaikalia. It was founded in 1681. The Monastery refers to Monastic community of Ulan-Ude eparchy of Buryatia Metropolia of Russian Orthodox Church.
5. Spaso-Preobrazhensky Posolsky Monastery (Posolskoye village, Kabansky District).
The monastery was founded in 1682 on the eastern shore of Lake Baikal. It is one of the oldest architectural monuments of Transbaikalia. It is the Object of the Cultural Heritage of the Peoples of Russia and is protected by the state.
6. Sretensky Convent (Baturino village, Pribaikalsky district).
The convent refers to Ulan-Ude eparchy of the Russian Orthodox Church. It is the first and only convent in Buryatia.
You can travel to Lake Baikal from the Convent and to "Turkinskie mineral waters" visited by Iakinf (Nikita Yakovlevich Bichurin) – an archimandrite of the Russian Orthodox Church (in 1802-1823). He was an orientalist and traveler, an expert in the Chinese language and one of the founders of Russian Sinology.
Iakinf (Nikita Yakovlevich Bichurin) in traditional Chinese attire.
Address Baturino village, Republic of Buryatia, ZIP code 671265.
Schedule Open around the clock.
7. Old Believers' Church in honor of the Exaltation of the Honourable and Life-Giving Cross of the Lord.
8. Old Believers' villages: Bolshoy Kunaley, Desyatnikovo - the most beautiful villages of Russia.
Here you can get acquainted with Old Believers folklore culture, with unique polyphonic singing of Old Believers from Transbaikalia, participate in a bride dressing ceremony to melodious songs, watch a master class on cooking dishes in a Russian stove and spinning on a cord wheel, visit the stately home, get familiar with everyday life and households of Old Believers.
For adherence to the old Orthodox faith, our ancestors found themselves in 1765 in the village. Tarbagatai.
The town is located 234 kilometers southwest of Ulan-Ude. The town is a gateway of Russia to Asia and one of the main points of attraction on "The Great Tea Way" tourist route. The year 2021 marks the 100th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Russia and Mongolia. The names of Russian diplomats Savva Lukich Raguzinsky, Abram (Ibrahim) Petrovich Hannibal, Iakinf Bichurin are closely connected with the town of Kyahta.
9. The Resurrection Church.
This Orthodox church is one of the monuments of XIX century Russian architecture in Transbaikalia. With the donations of the Kyakhta merchantry the church was built in 1830-1838 at the border with Mongolia in the suburb of the town of Kyakhta.
“In its inner splendor and richness this temple is almost unequalled in all Siberia” - reviews of travelers
10. The Dormition Church.
This Orthodox church is also one of the monuments of Russian architecture of the XIX century in Transbaikalia. The Church was built by a wealthy Russian merchant Nemchinov in 1884-1888 years. The architecture of the church is in "Russian-Byzantine" style - the church has a "Russian-Byzantine" cross-shaped plan.
The town of Kyakhta is one of the five historical cities of Buryatia and one of 41 historical settlements in Russia (until 1934 - Troitskosavsk).
Town of Kyakhta, Republic of Buryatia
Schedule Open around the clock.